Hey newbies! Welcome to college! You’ve officially entered the best years of your life–at least they will be if you make the most of it! 🙂

My name is Lea (Lay-uh) Lacar and I’m here to help you do just that. I’m a Junior and a Biochemistry major hoping to go to medical school after my time at UH Manoa. Dr. Lacar just has such a nice ring to it, haha. I’m an Aiea High School alumni and I currently live in Manoa during the semester. As a Gemini (June babies!) I like to do basically anything and Hawaii is the perfect place to find something fun to do! I love to snorkel and discover cool creatures in the ocean, hike without injuring myself, play volleyball, take pictures of beautiful things like this colorful island, read when I have time, binge on Netflix, sleep, sleep some more, and adventure on the ‘aina.

IMG_4582

UH Manoa is such a great place to learn because you can do all of these activities and more in the heart of paradise. I know that the distractions may be tempting but they’re a great reward for your hard work as a student as well. There are many fun extracurricular activities here along with the quality academics. For example, I’m on the board of the Pre-Medical Association and we are involved in service and medical education. Many other organizations exist on campus that can pertain to your interests and are a great way to make new friends as well. So get out there and discover!

One such opportunity I took advantage of was Study Abroad. This summer I studied abroad in Copenhagen, Denmark as well as travelled around Europe. From this experience I learned about how huge this world is but also about the huge impact individuals can make on it. A wise doctor once said: “There are 3 rules you need to remember. First, find out what you love doing. Second, find someone who will pay you to do it. Third, follow this order.” With this in mind, I sincerely wish you a great first year here. Don’t be nervous and just enjoy yourself. Feel free to ask me any questions or “talk story” to me! I can’t wait to meet you and tackle this semester together 😀

-Lea from Aiea

  

Leave a Reply

