Hi everyone!

My name is Joeleen Ortaleza, and I am a senior majoring in Animal Science. I’ll be graduating in the Spring of 2016 and will be applying to veterinary school in the near future. I love animals and aspire to become a Doctor of Veterinary Medicine for pets, like cats and dogs, but I also hope to spend some time working with wildlife and conservation efforts. I have two dogs named Nike and Milo that are super needy but also super loving! I was born and raised on Oahu, but I love traveling when I can afford it (haha). I’ve been to California, most states on the east coast, Japan, Costa Rica, and I plan to do veterinary work in Guatemala next year with VIDA, a club at UH Manoa.

Life is an adventure and I am definitely willing to try most things at least once. I enjoy hiking, going to the beach, watching Netflix, doing volunteer work/community service projects, and, of course, eating! I have a pretty busy schedule like most college kids, balancing school, work, internships, and trying to fit in a social life; but I want you all to know that college gives us some of the best years of our lives and that we can truly achieve anything. We’re going to have lots of fun, build lasting relationships, and learn everything that UH has to offer. Enjoy the rest of your summer! I can’t wait to meet you all this Fall!

IMG_1954

-Joeleen

Leave a Reply

